Skip to Content

Canvas Champions

Jennifer Garcia, lecturer in the Department of Philosophy at Texas State University, was a participant in the Canvas pilot test during the spring 2019 semester. She and her students were impressed with the many great online tools Canvas provides. These tools keep faculty and students connected, on task, and productive.

TXST Canvas Champions are faculty members excited about the new learning management system and willing to share their experiences with peers.

The program is a faculty-to-faculty exchange of ideas, experiences, and best practices for using Canvas to teach at Texas State.

Gene Bourgeois, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Ken Pierce, Vice President for Information Technology, are supporting the program. They encourage the use of Canvas, and the exchange of ideas.

Interest in Canvas is high at Texas State. More than 940 faculty members had accessed the system by Feb. 14, 2020, and more than 1,281 courses and project course sites have been created.

If you are an early adopter of TXST Canvas and are willing to share your experiences, click the button below to join the growing number of TXST Canvas Champions.

Champions videos

Sarah Neller was one of three faculty members who piloted Canvas for Texas State University during spring semester 2019. Neller is an Assistant Professor in the St. David's School of Nursing. Watch the video to hear about her experiences and her thoughts about Canvas at TXST.


Jason Coates, Senior Lecturer, Department of English

Dr. Michele Crawford Reynolds, Lecturer, Department of Biology

Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean, Graduate College 

Jennifer Garcia, Lecturer, Department of Philosophy

Dr. Candace Hastings, Director, Faculty Development, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Doug Holschuh, Senior Lecturer, Department of Curriculum And Instruction

Dr. Paul Jantz, Associate Professor, Education

Dr. Douglas Morrish, Assistant Dean and Professor, Applied Arts

Sarah Neller, Clinical Assistant Professor, St. David's School of Nursing

Claudia Roeschman, Associate Professor, Art and Design

Dr. Chad Smith, Chair and Professor, Liberal Arts

Dr. Debbie Thorne, Associate Provost, Chair of the Learning Management System Steering Committee

Dr. Eric Timmerman, Chair and Professor, Fine Arts and Communication

Dr. Peter Tschirhart, Senior Lecturer, Honors College

Dr. David Wierschem, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, McCoy College of Business Administration

Dana Willett, Assistant Vice President, Distance and Extended Learning

Canvas Champion backpack